INSA Opens Nomination Period for 2018 Achievement Awards

Left to right: Mandy Rogers, systems engineering associate at Northrop Grumman, and INSA Chairwoman Letitia Long.

Know exceptional people in the national security space or in the intelligence community? Now, you have the opportunity to nominate them for the 2018 INSA Achievement Awards.

Established in 2010, the awards program has included recent recipients from the U.S. Army, the Defense Intelligence Agency, the Treasury Department, the FBI, Northrop Grumman, the Office of Naval Intelligence, Vencore and many others.

“The INSA Achievement Awards offer a unique, public opportunity to recognize young women and men who are making distinguished contributions to U.S. intelligence and national security,” INSA Chairwoman Letitia Long said. “Such recognition is all too rare in the intelligence profession, given the sensitive nature of the work, particularly early in one’s career. I urge senior Intelligence Community leaders and their partners across the armed forces, academia, and industry to nominate the rising stars and mentors within their organizations.”

The six awards are named each after a recipient of the William Oliver Baker Award, which INSA presents annually to an individual for sustained excellence in their contribution to national security affairs over a considerable period of time:

  • The Joan A. Dempsey Mentorship Award – Nominees would come from public, private and academic elements up to and including GS-15/0-6 and equivalent rank.
  • The Sidney D. Drell Academic Award – Nominees would include graduate students and untenured professors.
  • The Richard J. Kerr Government Award – Nominees would be civilian government employees up to and including GS-13 and equivalent rank.
  • The William O. Studeman Military Award – Nominees would be uniformed military personnel up to and including 0-3/E-6.
  • The Edwin H. Land Industry Award – Nominees would include contractors and nongovernment employees with 8-10 years of nonexecutive experience.
  • The John W. Warner Homeland Security Award – Nominees would include law enforcement personnel, intelligence analysts and first responders from the federal government and state, local, tribal and territorial partners.

The unclassified nomination form is available online. Instructions to submit nominees who would require a classified nomination are available by contacting INSA at

Nominations will be accepted through Oct. 30, 2017. Recipients will be notified early next year, followed by public acknowledgment at the 2018 Achievement Awards ceremony in February. Ceremony details will be forthcoming.

Read More:

INSA Announces Recipients of 2017 Achievement Awards

INSA Awards Celebrate the Future of the IC

Comments are closed.

The DailyGovCon News You Need To Know