INSA Announces Recipients of 2017 Achievement Awards

The 2017 INSA Achievement Awards recipients will be honored at a reception and awards ceremony on Feb. 23, 2017, at the United States Institute of Peace. Defense Intelligence Agency Director Lt. Gen. Vincent R. Stewart, USMC, will provide the keynote address. Photo credit INSA.

The Intelligence and National Security Alliance (INSA) announced Jan. 25 the recipients of the 2017 INSA Achievement Awards. The awards recognize outstanding mid-level professionals from government, military, private sector and academia supporting the U.S. national security mission.

Selected by a committee of INSA’s leadership and Intelligence Champions Council, the recipients are:

  • CPT Brigid K. Calhoun, 1-503rd Infantry Battalion S2, 173rd IBCT (A), U.S. Army (William O. Studeman Military Award)
  • Sara Jamshidi, Graduate Research Assistant, Penn State University – Applied Research Laboratory (Sidney D. Drell Academic Award)
  • Mandy Rogers, Systems Engineering Associate, Northrop Grumman Corporation (Edwin H. Land Industry Award)
  • Thomas D. Smith, Insider Threat Program Manager, U.S. Department of the Treasury (Richard J. Kerr Government Award)
  • Janna Scott-Tarman, Deputy Division Chief, Counterintelligence Analysis, Defense Intelligence Agency (Joan A. Dempsey Mentorship Award)
  • Sean Sullivan, Homeland Security Investigations, U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (John W. Warner Homeland Security Award)

“INSA takes great pride in recognizing the promising professionals and mentors serving in the intelligence and national security workforce,” INSA President Chuck Alsup said. “The commitment to excellence, discipline, and integrity demonstrated by these recipients is a testament to them and so many others who work to keep our Nation safe. We hope this recognition inspires our recipients, as well as their peers and colleagues, to continue their outstanding leadership and service to the Nation.”

The 2017 Achievement Awards ceremony and reception will take place Feb. 23 at the United States Institute of Peace in Washington, D.C. Defense Intelligence Agency Director Lt. Gen. Vincent Stewart, USMC, will give the keynote address.

The INSA Board of Directors established the Achievement Awards in 2010. Each award is named after a recipient of the William Oliver Baker Award, which INSA presents annually to an individual for their sustained contributions to U.S. intelligence and national security affairs.

Related: INSA Names LGS Innovations CEO Kevin Kelly Chair of Technology and Innovation Council


Comments are closed.

Subscribe to The DailyGet federal business news & insights delivered to your inbox.