Winners of Inaugural WashingtonExec Pinnacle Awards Unveiled

Tony Moraco, Greg Baroni, Donna Morea, John Hillen and JD Kathuria

Before an audience of over 300 GovCon leaders and influencers, WashingtonExec yesterday announced the winners of the inaugural Pinnacle Awards. The Judges Committee received 125 impressive nominations across 13 categories, making it a challenge to downselect the 50 finalists. ​ (See photo gallery of winners at the bottom.)

The awards luncheon, which took place at the Ritz Carlton Tysons Corner, shone a light on exemplary leadership in the GovCon industry. In addition to recognizing the winners, Donna Morea who was inducted into the WashingtonExec Hall of Fame, was honored for her lifelong leadership in the GovCon community. SAIC CEO Tony Moraco and Attain Chairman and CEO Greg Baroni spoke on Morea’s decades-long contributions and Baroni highlighted her as a trailblazer.

“Donna Morea’s induction as the first member of the WashingtonExec Pinnacle Awards Hall of Fame is a well-deserved honor,” he said. “Throughout her impressive career, Donna has enjoyed many firsts, including being one of the pioneers in growing the Northern Virginia technology community and paving the way for women executives. Her commitment to clients, colleagues and community is an inspiration, and is among the many reasons that I personally admire her. Donna truly is an icon.”

The awards ceremony, emceed by Dr. John Hillen, was different from other GovCon award ceremonies in that nominators were asked to describe the “why” and the “how” of an executive milestone and/or federal client project. The awards were not solely based on rewarding revenue generation, CEO only, or other arbitrary accolades.

“I’d like to thank all the winners and the finalists for their contributions to the GovCon community,” said WashingtonExec founder and CEO JD Kathuria. “Each and every one of you is key to driving critical missions, whether you are a senior leader or an executive assistant. Everyone here exemplifies true leadership, innovation and a drive to make the government more efficient and effective. We’re proud to recognize everyone’s hard work and look forward to doing it again next year.”


Artificial Intelligence Executive of the Year: 
Melvin Greer, Intel Corp.

Healthcare Executive of the Year: 
Kristine Martin Anderson, Booz Allen Hamilton

Cybersecurity Executive of the Year: 
Tim Patterson, CACI

Intelligence Executive of the Year: 
Rick Wagner, ManTech International

National Security Executive of the Year: 
Stephanie Mango, CGI Federal

STEM Advocate of the Year:
Joyce Abbey, SAIC

Executive Assistant of the Year:


Monica Carter, Perspecta
Maria Cornell, CGI Federal
Stephanie Crawford, MAXIMUS
Tina Ferguson, ManTech International
Jessica Gomez Phillips, Engility Corp.


Terra Baker, SOS International
Patrice Johnson, ASRC Federal
Linda Jones, LGS Innovations
Erin Miles, DMI
LaCresha Mirrielees, NTT DATA

IT Innovator of the Year (Government):
Jose Arrieta, Health and Human Services Department
Molly Cain, Homeland Security Department
Charlie Fields, Defense Information Systems Agency
Ryan Vega, Veterans Affairs Department
Gary Washington, Agriculture Department

Business Development Executive of the Year:
RJ Kolton, DSA

General Manager of the Year:
Sandy Gillespie, NCI

Special thank you goes to Bloomberg, Goldman Sachs, SAIC and Riverside Research, who sponsored the awards, and the Judges Committee: Anne Altman, chairman of the board, Siemens Government Technologies; Tim Keenan, founder, Keenan & Associates; and Doug Wagoner, board member, Thomson Reuters.

Subscribe to The DailyGet federal business news & insights delivered to your inbox.