Women in Technology Announces 2014-2015 Board and Leadership Team, First Panel Event

Sheehan, Kellye

Kellye Sheehan, Senior Manager at Hewlett Packard

Women in Technology (WIT) announced Sept. 11 its 2014–2015 board and leadership team. Kellye Sheehan, Senior Manager at Hewlett Packard, will lead the organization this year as president.

“I am so excited to see WIT beginning its 21st year. We have many talented women serving in leadership roles and working to grow WIT’s presence in the D.C area,” President Kellye Sheehan said in a statement. “You will definitely want to join us to find out what new activities are being planned and how you can benefit from WIT this year. As professional women work to grow their careers, look for new opportunities and contribute to the larger professional community, they’ll want to have WIT on their side.”

Additionally, WIT will host its first WIT.Connect of the 2014-2015 year with a panel titled, “From Dreaming Big to Growing Big: The Stories of Female Entrepreneurs” on Thursday, September 18 from 6:00 to 8:30 p.m. at the Gannett Building in McLean, Va. Featuring leading business owners and entrepreneurs, this panel will explore how they transformed their ideas into scalable, growth-oriented companies.

Sabrina Hersi Issa, Founder and CEO of Be Bold Media; Dr. Nicole Close, Founder and Principal Biostatistician at Empiristat; and Michele Bolos, Founder, CEO and President of NT Concepts will share their paths to success and offer insights into building up entrepreneurial ventures. The panel will be moderated by Tara Palacios, Director of BizLaunch.

The 2014–2015 Board Members include 
Kellye Sheehan – President, 
Lisa Dezzutti – President Elect
, Phyllis Kolmus – Immediate Past President
, Kim Dismuke – Secretary
, Vincette Goerl – Treasurer, 
Kathryn Harris – General Counsel, 
Maria Chaloux – Special Events Board Member At Large, Denise Hart – Executive Development Board Member at Large
, Colleen Oresky – Member Development Board Member at Large, 
Nanci Schimizzi – GIT Programs and Strategic Alliances Board Member at Large
, Cynthia Mendoza-Chatelain – Women in Government Board Member at Large
, Kathy Stewart – Advocacy Board Member at Large
, Anitha Raj – Communications Chair, 
Lynn McUmber – Membership Chair, 
Jane Maliszewski – Programs Chair and 
Laura McCarthy – Sponsorship Chair.

The 2014–2015 Leadership Team members include 
Lari B. Young – Advocacy Vice Chair
, Penny Parker – Communications, Marketing Vice Chair, 
Hilary Sharp – Communications, PR & Media Relations Vice Chair, 
Kelly McCracken – Cyber Security Special Interest Group Chair, 
Sue Butler – Executive Women Special Interest Group Chair
, Paula Valone – Executive Women Special Interest Group Vice Chair, 
Leslie Bauer – Finance Vice Chair
, Trish Barber – Girls in Technology Chair
, Elvina Kamalova – Girls in Technology Vice Chair, 
Bonnie McDaniel – Leadership Awards Chair
, Julie Bloecher – Leadership Foundry Chair, 
Marguerete Luter – Leadership Foundry Vice Chair, 
Trang Pham – Leadership Luncheon Chair
, Tania Eggleston – Membership Vice Chair
, Jean Orr – Mentorship Chair
, Pat Burke – Nominating Chair
, Kathy Furlong – Nominating Vice Chair, 
Illina Dimitrova – Programs Vice Chair, Alison Gonzalez – Sales & Marketing Special Interest Group Chair, Monique McDonough – Sales & Marketing Special Interest Group Vice Chair, Dina Flynn – Sponsorship Vice Chair, 
Jennifer Burns – Strategic Alliances Chair, 
Geetika Tandon – Website and Technology Chair, 
Lisa Bethel – Website and Technology Vice Chair
, Arti P. Varanasi – Women Business Owners Special Interest Group Chair, 
Avneet Singh – Workforce Development Chair, 
Heather Diehl – Young Professionals Chair
, Meeka Smith – Young Professionals Vice Chair and 
Dede Haskins – WIT Education Foundation Chair.

WIT is a not-for-profit organization with the mission of advancing women in technology — from the classroom to the boardroom — by providing advocacy, leadership development, networking, mentoring and technology education.

WashingtonExec previously covered WIT when the group honored 14 “Architects of Change” at the 15th Annual Leadership Awards Banquet.



Comments are closed.

The DailyGovCon News You Need To Know