AFCEA Bethesda Unveils 2019 InnovateIT Award Winners

In this file photo. Jose Arrieta, right, receives WashingtonExec’s 2018 Pinnacle Award. 

The AFCEA Bethesda Chapter announced the winners of the 2019 InnovateIT Awards, which  recognize innovation and leadership that has sustained excellence across the three primary focus areas of the President’s Management Agenda.

The awards, which also highlights the collaboration between industry and government to deliver outcomes that matter to organizations, citizens and the nation, focus on:

  • Mission: Recognizes an individual or team that used technology to drive mission value or adopted innovative techniques to combat security threats to solve a mission challenge.
  • Service: Recognizes an individual or team that has implemented innovative, governmentwide approaches to deliver better, more efficient services to citizens, partner agencies, or employees.
  • Stewardship: Recognizes an individual or team that has improved the efficiency and cost-effectiveness of agency programs and operations to exercise effective responsibility over taxpayer dollars.

The 2019 InnovateIT Award winners include:

  • Government Innovator of the Year:
    • Jose Arrieta, chief information officer, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Industry Innovator of the Year:
    • Zain Ahmed, vice president, civilian and law enforcement sales, CenturyLink
  • Mission – Emerging Government Leader:
    • Vincent Sritapan, portfolio manager, physical & cybersecurity, Department of Homeland Security Science & Technology Directorate
    • Sam Navarro, program manager, Enterprise Mobility Program, Federal Acquisition Services, General Services Administration
    • Gema Howell, computer scientist, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Mission – Senior Government Leader:
    • John Morenz, chief technology officer, Social Security Administration
    • Anthony Tsantrizos, operations branch manager, Deployment and Logistics Division, Acquisition Program Management, Transportation Security Administration,
    • Don Cahoon, program specialist, lead Checkpoint designer, Deployment and Logistics Division, Acquisition Program Management, TSA
  • Service – Emerging Government Leader:
    • Ryan Hoesing, FedRAMP customer success manager, General Services Administration
  • Service – Senior Government Leader:
    • Dr. Neil C. Evans, chief officer, Connected Care, Veterans Health Administration, Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Stewardship – Emerging Government Leader:
    • Michelle Marantz, acting contracts and acquisitions branch chief/IT specialist, State Department, Bureau of Consular Affairs
  • Stewardship – Senior Government Leader:
    • Bobby Saxon, CTO, Center for Consumer Information and Insurance Oversight/

The awards will be presented at the July 11 Senior Government Executive Dinner.

Comments are closed.