SECAF Elects New Leadership

SECAF board member Ben Edson, founder and CEO of VariQ Corp.

The Small and Emerging Contractors Advisory Forum has chosen new leadership for its board of directors.

SECAF appointed Kathy Albarado (president and CEO of Helios HR) as chair of the board, and Curt Anderson (director of strategic alliances for CSSI Inc.) as vice chair. Mark Melton (partner at Cordia Partners) will be SECAF’s treasurer, and Matthew Agresti (senior vice president/senior relationship manager – business banking, Bank of America Merrill Lynch) will be secretary.

Albarado has served on the board since 2010, and said she is dedicated to SECAF’s mission of providing education, resources and advocacy vehicles that help small and emerging contractors find federal opportunities.

“I am a strong advocate for the power of the relationships found in SECAF,” Albarado said. “Helios HR received its first government contract as a direct result of our involvement. I look forward to celebrating the success of our members with similar stories.”

Albarado founded Helios HR, a human capital management and recruiting firm, and has helped launch and grow hundreds of organizations ranging from startups to Fortune 500 companies. She is active in many regional organizations, an active member of Professional Services Council and is also a founding board member of the George Mason University School of Business’ Women in Business Initiative.

The board’s previous chair, Cameron Hamilton of The McLean Group, said Albarado was a fine choice as his successor.

“I have had the privilege of working with Kathy over the past several years and know without fail that she will steward in the organization’s next round of successes,” Hamilton said.

SECAF also welcomed Spear Inc. CEO Richard Pineda as a new board member. Pineda, a former president of Dell Services Federal Government,  will lend his strategic expertise in extending the SECAF’s reach and growth, the organization said.

SECAF’s full 2017-2018 board of directors slate is as follows:

Kathy Albarado, Helios HR, president and CEO – chair
Curt Anderson, CSSI, Inc. – Vice chair
Mark Melton, Cordia Partners, partner – treasurer
Matthew Agresti, Bank of America Merrill Lynch – secretary
Scott Brezler, Dixon Hughes Goodman LLP
Pava Cohen, Sage Communications, LLC, president, Government Group
Frances Craig, Unanet, CEO and founder
Ben Edson, VariQ Corp., CEO and founder
Sue Evans, Evans Inc., president and CEO
Cameron Hamilton, The McLean Group, principal
Devon Hewitt, Protorae Law, partner
Sirena Johnson, Citrin Cooperman, partner
Shiv Krishnan, INDUS Corp., president
Mark Moore, Access National Bank, president and board member
Richard Pineda, Spear, Inc., CEO
Kwesi Rogers, Federal National Commercial Credit, president
Andrew Sherman, Seyfarth Shaw LLP, partner

Read More:

13th Annual Greater Washington GovCon Awards Winners Include CALIBRE’s Joe Martore, PAE’s John Heller and VariQ’s Ben Edson

WashingtonExec Video Interview Series: ‘Outside the Boardroom’: VariQ Founder and CEO Ben Edson

Comments are closed.

The DailyGovCon News You Need To Know