SECAF Announces Winners of 8th Annual GovCon Awards

SECAF 2016 GovCon Awards

Scott Brezler (Dixon Hughes Goodman LLP), Satya Akula (Amyx, Inc.) at the 8th Annual SECAF Gala wards

The Small and Emerging Contractors Advisory Forum (SECAF) named the winners of its Eighth Annual Government Contractor Awards on May 12. More than 500 people attended SECAF’s flagship event, which honors small and emerging government contractors and the players in the industry that rely on small businesses.

Finalists were chosen by a team of more than 25 regional business leaders that comprised this year’s Selection Committee. Award winners were then selected from this pool in nine categories by a celebrated group of judges, including: Bob Dougherty, CEO, Netcentrics; Tiffanny Gates, CEO, Novetta; David Lee, President, Intelligence & Digital Data; Peter Schulte, Principal, CM Equity; and George Wilson, CEO, ECS Federal.

“Congratulations to all of the award winners at SECAF’s 2016 Gala,” event co-chair, SECAF Chairman of the Board and The McLean Group LLC partner Cameron Hamilton said. “I can personally attest to the difficulty the judges had in selecting the winners from amongst such an amazing group of finalists. It was a privilege to publicly recognize all of these companies that are shining examples of the commitment, strategy and leadership that enable the government contractor community as a whole to reach higher levels.”

Seven awards categories of awards were presented at the event:

  1. Government Contractor of the Year — Recognize companies in three revenue categories that have shown a compelling and profound commitment to excellence in growth and financial performance.
  2. Award of Excellence — Highlights an organization that represents excellence within their community, the government contracting industry and towards employees.
  3. Government Project of the Year — Given to a company that has delivered an exemplary program with significant tangible and intangible value to the federal government.
  4. Small Business Partner of the Year — Awarded to a large business that has demonstrated its ability to establish and support mentorships, teaming, partnerships and other beneficial programs for small businesses.
  5. Special Recognition Award — Presented to a small business that – in the judges’ view – exemplifies many of the core qualities of the other SECAF awards and has a strong focus on providing services and solutions that are useful and relevant to customers.
  6. Government Advocate of the Year — Awarded to someone who has provided leadership, commitment and direction and had a profound and positive impact on the small and emerging contracting community.
  7. Advocate of the Year — Recognizes a member who tirelessly championed the organization’s mission.

The 2016 winners are:

  1. Government Contractor of the Year — Fusion PPY (Less than $6 million); Apogee Research, LLC $6 million-$12 million) and IntelliWare Systems, Inc. ($12 million-$25 million)
  2. Award of Excellence — Atlas Research
  3. Government Project of the Year — Amyx, Inc.
  4. Small Business Partner of the Year — CACI
  5. Special Recognition Award — KnowledgeBank, Inc. 
  6. Government Advocate of the Year — Jackie Robinson-Burnette, U.S. Small Business Administration
  7. SECAF’s Advocate of the Year — Kathy Albarado, Helios HR

“We thank our SECAF winners, along with our finalists and nominees, for their outstanding contributions to this year’s process,” event co-chairs Scott Brezler of Dixon Hughes Goodman and Mark Moore of John Marshall Bank said. “Year in and year out, they prove to be tremendous representatives of the GovCon industry.”


The Ambit Group BANNER AD

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to The DailyGet federal business news & insights delivered to your inbox.